A New Day

Boxing Day, Dad sits down beside me on the couch in front of the fire.

“Well, Christmas dinner was a great success,” I say, making conversation.

DeleanturkeyXmas13

Delean cooked the turkey. Mum made the trifle. Taeja brought baked goods from our favourite local bakery. And Seth brought his beautiful daughter, Alyssa.

AlyssaXmas13

We opened gifts, drank wine, ate way too much and played four rounds of Apples to Apples.

Dad&AlyssaXmas

Dad came and went between the kitchen with us and his chair with the TV and dogs. Lynn showed him his hand from time to time to include him in the game.

DadXmas13

Have I mentioned I won three out of the four games?

SethXmas13

And at quarter to eleven, Mum was the last resident home to her senior’s building that night.

Mum&LynnXmas13

It was a wonderful night.

TaejaXmas13

“Christmas? When was that?” Dad asks.

“Last night,” I say.

Jesus.

I guess every day is a new day.

Happy New Year!

Dad&KtXmas13

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Day

  1. jessie says:

    Happy New Year indeed!

Leave a Reply

