Hello world!

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life.

This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.

Every birthday since my 30th has been a life-changing event in some way… a new dream, a new perspective. This year’s epiphany took place in February on a treadmill on the 42nd floor of the Woodwards building in Gastown, Vancouver.

Running for the first time since puberty and looking out at the million dollar view of my friend’s apartment gym, the lights went on and the words came out: Wealth is a lifestyle and success is in the experience of our everyday.

Well, what a relief, what do I want and why didn’t they teach me this in high school?

Flash forward a week or two to the kitchen at my Dad’s house:

– Have you had breakfast, Dad? Want some eggs?

– I can’t remember if I’ve had breakfast.

Oh my God, this is really happening.

So if I’m right and wealth is a lifestyle and success is in the experience of our everyday, what lifestyle do I want with the information provided to me at this point in my life?

No question: I want to cook an old man meals, make him “boiled grass” (herbal tea) with oranges and homemade granola bars, go to the doctor with him and listen to him try to make the doctor laugh while he’s being diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. I want to hear the same stories over again and again, pretend like I don’t notice when he’s getting confused and mostly I want to share space with him while he’s still alive and if I’m brave enough – be there with him when he goes. That would be rich.

Sincerely,

Katryna

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Beverley Stewart says:

    Hi Katie;

    What a wonderful blog entry that is. I wish all the best to you and your dad, and if you ever have some free time, by all means do come over to Salt Spring and pay me a visit! Best wishes, Bev Stewart

  2. Miss Dang says:

    Great Job K. That picture of you is stunning!

  3. mlazaruk says:

    How loving and beautiful

Leave a Reply

