“Terror made me cruel”

It was near midnight. I was alone in the corner of the living room. Dad was fast asleep in bed.

Earphones and laptop, I was deep into Masterpiece Theatre’s Wuthering Heights and the only light in the house was Heathcliff on the screen.

As a child, black nights at the farm were scary but nowadays I take enjoyment in finding my way blindly, feeling with my hands and hoping nobody left anything out to trip over.

Slowly in my periphery, I noticed movement around me. Shiatsus chasing Samson the cat, I thought. Mildly irritated, I returned to Kathy.

Suddenly, directly to my left, a heart-breaking screech of fear and pain called out. Jumping up, my computer dropped to the ground as I screamed and scrambled in the pitch night running for the light, not knowing what Samson had brought to kill beside me.

Dad, waking to my commotion, jumped out of bed and came to save the day in a white tank top and blue briefs.

Running towards the cat, he swooped down and swiftly scooped up a baby robin at the end of its short life. Together, we were sad.

Turning off the lights, feeling my way to my bedroom, I thought three things:

1)    Samson isn’t the cat I thought he was.

2)    What other terrible things are happening around me that I’m in the dark about?

3)    I may be taking care of my father but he’s still taking care of me too.

Sincerely,

Katryna

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Terror made me cruel”

  1. Miss Dang says:

    I had no idea you were reduced to watching wuthering heights. Clearly I need to take care of you too!

Leave a Reply

