Grouchy

–       I must have done something right.

He says.

My father has loved several women in his life but there is one name he says aloud randomly, unconsciously, for the rest of us to hear. When he says it, no one acknowledges it.

I was too young to catch the details but for whatever reason Grouchy wasn’t interested and I’m not sure I’d marry a man that nicknamed me Grouchy either, so what do I know?

Recently, after the loss of her life partner, I took my Dad for coffee at her house. It had been so many years that we almost knocked on the wrong door. She made crepes with strawberries. Dad was excited, nervous and clearly as in love as ever.

When we came home, Dad floated to his chair (that she had bought him as a thank you gift) and I cried in the kitchen to my sister. My heart was broken for a love story without the happy ending my father had wanted.

She said,

–       Maybe it’s not about getting what we want. Maybe it’s about being of service.

My father has spent his life being of service to others. He poured the love he had for Grouchy into her children, taking her son to Vancouver for all of his cancer treatments before he died and welcoming her daughters into his home and care during their rebellious years. They asked him to walk them down the aisle but he declined not wanting to cause any family trouble.

When I first decided to move home with Dad, I contacted the girls I had shared my father with all those years to ask if they would be interested in taking part in his care. They jumped at the chance and now every Sunday they alternate leaving their families to come home to the farm and make the Sunday meal.

–       I must have done something right.

He says every time they come.

Sincerely,

Katryna

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grouchy

  1. Jessie says:

    “Maybe it’s not about getting what we want. Maybe it’s about being of service”
    so inspiring dear Ormistons.
    Thank you!

  2. Miss Dang says:

    Yup he did something right! He had you! That free range thing really works!

  3. Miss Dang says:

    And yes so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

