Dahlia Divine

–       Thank you for calling.

Says Dad as he hangs up the phone.

–       My friend Burl is dead.

He tells me as I make us tea.

Burl was one of my favourite faces down at St Stephen’s. He had a gentle kindness about him. The church Dahlia Garden and Vinyard were his projects of passion. In fact, he had recently made two Dahlia hybrids to celebrate the upcoming 150th Anniversary of St Stephen’s.

At 85, he died in his chair after watching his favourite football team win their match. His daughter found him.

Not a bad way to go.

Still, old people seem so young when I know them. Young souls, I guess.

–       I don’t have many friends left.

Dad says.

–       I can go anytime.

I dread finding my father dead in his chair. I always check for breathing when I make him tea and find him napping. That said, I hope death comes as easy for him as it did for Burl.

I wonder if The Golden Girls or Murder She Wrote will see him out.

Sincerely,

Katryna

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dahlia Divine

  1. Karen says:

    Nicely written as always. When I was in Winnipeg back in October, I’d ask my mother about various people I knew. Most were dead; cancer, heart attacks and what not. I so know what you mean about old people not seeming old when you know them. I’ve always lumped old people kinda together but then I see my own mother and at almost 81 she has such a strong constitution and strong mind that I don’t see her as old like those I have lumped together. It’s a shame that I lump.
    Aging is interesting, for lack of a better word. Even at my age – my brain doesn’t feel the age I am. i read something insightful once about why that is but I can’t remember now what it was, ha.
    Must go dye my grey hair over now.
    – Karen

Leave a Reply

