Barbara comes on Friday

–       Barbara comes on Friday.

He says.

Grouchy makes Friday dinners for Dad. Whether I’m in Vancouver or on the island, Barbara is my Friday night respite care.

–       I have a love story to tell you when I get back from the can.

Dad says.

–       This little Chinese girl used to walk by the Johnson Street bridge and this tall, thin man would walk her to work every morning. He wanted to marry her but her father would not have his daughter marry a white man. So, she never married.

He says.

–       The man got married, moved east and had a family. When his wife died and he retired some twenty odd years later, he came back to see if she was still there. When I was at the Golden City for lunch one day, I seen her family altogether at a table with a heavyset, bald headed fella. I called her brother over as he was walking by and asked, “Is that who I think it is?” Eddie said yes. They were married that day. I said, “I guess your Dad is turning in his grave,” and he said, “Let him spin.”

–       Barbara comes on Friday.

He says.

He lights a fire for her in the kitchen. He plays her Vera Lynn and Ink Spots records in the living room. They drink a glass of wine.

– Her brothers were against it but Oma told them to mind their own business.

Says Dad.

He is fourteen years older.

–       Barbara comes on Friday.

He says.

They go to Pender Island on a Saturday to see an old friend and clock-maker, and his wife.

–       We missed the ferry.

He says when he calls.

–       I couldn’t have planned it better myself.

He says, content spending two more hours in line and taking the milk route ferry home.

–       Barbara comes on Friday.

He says.

She cuts his hair and eyebrows.

–       She doesn’t do nose hairs.

He says.

–       Barbara comes on Friday.

I say.

–       She’d kill me if she heard me.

He laughs.

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Barbara comes on Friday

  1. Mary (Bagnall) Stairs says:

    ANd another “fun day”…thanks for the humor Katryna!!I KNOw that respite time is necessary!!hugs cousin Mary in the east!!

Leave a Reply

