Age of Aquarius

Reading the paper.

–       Give me your hand.

Dad says.

We hold hands.

He reads our horoscope aloud. We are both Aquarius.

– You will have to hold a loved one’s hand and guide them through a situation they do not feel comfortable with. Unlike you, they will find it hard to accept, let alone enjoy, new experiences. Show them the way.

A big Dodge parks in the driveway. Two men in dark, formal clothes get out. They are carrying religious looking binders.

–       These are my friends, the Jehovah Witnesses.

Dad says.

–       Come in. Sit down.

I hide in my bedroom.

I hear Dad breathe his way to his room and back to the living room.

– I thought for a lark I’d show you mine.

He has the Family Bible.

Curious, I eavesdrop from the hall.

–       Love God and love thy neighbour as yourself. That’s the key of all faith.

Dad says.

–        If you have that, you don’t need anything else.

–       What about Paradise?

–       None of that matters.

They discuss. They laugh.

–       We should move on.

The man says.

–       We have the Mormons come by too. They’re very nice people.

Dad says.

They leave. I come out.

–       My Dad used to talk with the Jehovah Witnesses.

He says,

–       He told them to come at lunchtime and Mom would feed them.

He reminisces about his friends of different faiths.

–       My friend Jerry was a Jehovah Witness. His daughter ran away with a man and the church told him to shunt her. He was an elder but refused to do that to her. His marriage broke up over it.

He says,

–       He told me the best friends he ever had never spoke to him after that.

He says,

– Only God knows what’s right.

He laughs,

–       I opened the bible and there was all my money in it.

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

