I am Malala

“Katie?”

I hear quick shuffles down the hall towards my room.

“There’s a program starting I think you’d enjoy.”

Dad calls.

“It’s about the little girl from Pakistan.”

I jump out of bed and join him in front of the television.

Malala1

Malala Yousafzai, the girl who stood out against the Taliban and survived a point blank gunshot to the head while on a school bus.

A miracle to have survived, she gets up and continues to fight for girl’s rights to freedom of education. She is 16 years old and nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize.

I cry and laugh through the Diane Sawyer interview.

“I should’ve let you sleep.”

Says Dad, watching my reactions.

Malala2

At the end of the show, the camera flashes to girls all over the world lifting their hands and saying: I am Malala.

Others lift their hands and say: I stand with Malala.

Dad lifts his hand quick like a schoolboy.

“I stand with Malala.”

He says and then looks down at his lap.

“Lift a paw, Nigel.”

I get up from my chair.

“Always remember Katie, there are more good people in the world than bad.”

He says.

“Otherwise, you couldn’t live in it.”

Malala3

I almost reach the hall when he calls out,

“Especially, Rita Mary Haffie.”

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am Malala

  1. Vicki pierobon says:

    You’re dad still looks really good Katie. Hope you’re well and loving life in Vancouver

    • Thanks Vicki. I think he looks very dapper in his new flannel shirt. He is easily cold these days.
      And I’m doing well, thanks. Loving getting to see friends and Lynn in Vancouver. Not so isolated these days…
      Best wishes to you too. xo

Leave a Reply

