Maple Syrple, A Cold War

honeymoon

Still floating from my honeymoon, I come home to an urgent message from Dad’s tax accountant and a carbon copy of an email exchange between Nicol and Mum.

katie and joan

Hi Joan,

The bottle of syrup you bought Sandy 4 days ago is gone, and the 4 litres of ice cream is almost finished.

Joan, while money is involved in the cost of the maple syrup, I don’t really think it’s the critical consideration.

One of the things I try to do is have Sandy on as much balanced a diet as possible. This is difficult because he loves large amounts of sugar everyday – maple syrup, honey in his tea, sometimes four or five bowls of ice cream in a day. I buy him Tunnocks caramel wafers, cookies, chocolate, ju jubes and assorted candy, halva, as well as his sugared ginger.

Personally, I think he consumes too much sugar, and it could be a health risk because he is sedentary and doesn’t burn it off. My recommendation for health reasons would be to control it a little.

Then, again, I am not a dietitian…just my two cents worth.

Nicol

0004_21A

Some scientific studies link sugar to Alzheimer’s.

0006_19A

Hi Nicol,

I absolutely agree with you, the sugar is not good for him, but, he is 84 and I think he should have whatever makes him happy. When I think of the amount of alcohol he used to drink, the sugar is a great improvement and he is quite ready to die. I am a great believer in dying happy! The food you give him is wonderful, and he is so lucky to have you to take care of him, but he seems to have no control over his need for the sugary stuff. I guess it is what he craves instead of the booze. Strange change of taste.

I know you are right Nicol, but I want him to be happy.

Joan

0019_6A

My father is a very lucky man.

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maple Syrple, A Cold War

  1. Vicki pierobon says:

    — and you mom is a compassionate lady!

Leave a Reply

