KKKKatie

“KKKKatie, beautiful Katie, you’re the only ggggirl that I adore,” sings Dad rolling his walker towards the living room chair beside me.

“When the mmmoon shines over the cow shed, I’ll be waiting at the kkkkitchen door.”

As a child, I made loud noises of protest each time he sang me this song.

Today, I feel nothing but love.

IMG_3485

“For that, will you be coming to church with me on Sunday?” he asks.

Sneaky bugger, I laugh and pretend to grumble.

IMG_3490

“KKKKatie, beautiful Katie,” sings Dad from bed as I’m walking back to my room from a three am pee.

I laugh in the darkness.

“Nigel and Emmy are here with me,” he says, fishing for a visit.

Finite time, I turn around and head to his room. As I climb into bed, the shih tzus scatter.

IMG_3488

“I know,” says Dad to the dogs, “She’s big, isn’t she?”

We lay in silence.

“No, she doesn’t take up that much room,” he says, “She’s still my little girl.”

 

 

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to KKKKatie

  1. Sybil Eve says:

    This is amazing. Mother (Sybil) and her roommate in the nursing home used to take turns singing a line of KKKKatie. That went on for about a year prior to mother’s death.

    • Sybil Eve, Amazing indeed! I am forever blown away at the power of music to connect people, be they family, friends or complete strangers.
      I hope you are well, cousin! xo

  2. jessie says:

    All i can say is aaawwwweeee

  3. lorraine says:

    so sweet!!!!

Leave a Reply

