What I Am Really Thinking

‘I wrote a letter to the Guardian,’ says Mum.

The English paper requests letters from their readers for a ‘What I am Really Thinking’  column.

I ask to read it.

Mum writes:

Since I am now in my eighties, it feels like the right time to discuss options of my future with my daughter. Gosh, how complex and complicated such a conversation becomes.                    

Having no wish to become a liability or nuisance in her life, the options, unless one is rich, are limited. We live in different cities, and because she has spent years coming and going to take care of her father, I have no wish for her to have to repeat the procedure with me as I become less able to cope. However, I know no one in her city, but feel incredibly close to her, and we both wonder what can be the best option for me.

As I enjoy excellent health at this time, it is hard to face the reality of what probably lies ahead with any enthusiasm, but, it must be done. A house with a granny suite would be a great solution, but the cost of housing in her city has gone beyond the reach of all but the wealthy, so, where does that leave the average person?

What little savings I have; do I spend it and have fun with the family or do I hoard it, just in case?

How difficult it is not knowing what the future holds. How I envy the folks who just go to bed one night and fall asleep, what bliss………Dream on old lady, dream on!’

IMG_3341

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Am Really Thinking

  1. Carlene Neeve says:

    I’m not quite where your Mom is but will be … Thinking of those challenges are mind boggling.

    Thanks for sharing. Always enjoy your blog.

    How’s Sandy?

  2. Jessie says:

    So great you are having the conversation! Well done you two – mother and daughter – adorable!

Leave a Reply

