Blue Valentine

Love is what you’ve been through with somebody. ~James Thurber, quoted in Life magazine, 1960

“Please call me when you can,” texts Mum on Valentine’s Day.

The cat scan results are in. Dad has cancer of the bladder and prostrate and a blockage in his lungs.

Without love, what are we worth? Eighty-nine cents! Eighty-nine cents worth of chemicals walking around lonely. ~M*A*S*H, Hawkeye

“He’s ready to turn up his toes,” says Mum, “but I asked the doctor what can be done for his lungs.”

Mum and I agree. Choking is not how we want things to go for Dad.

Time is too slow for those who wait, too swift for those who fear, too long for those who grieve, too short for those who rejoice, but for those who love, time is eternity. ~Henry Van Dyke

“Don’t be too sad, darling,” says Mum, her own voice cracking, “It comes to us all.”

Chin up.

About Morbid Optimist

My name is Katryna Mary Brooke Ormiston. I am 35 years old and after living in Vancouver for a decade, I am returning home to my 81 year old father’s hobby farm on Vancouver Island to care for him in the final stages of his life. This blog is to document my journey, process my experiences along the way and hopefully share and feel connected to a community beyond the three and a half acres I find myself on. A message in a bottle in the cyber-sea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blue Valentine

  1. lorraine says:

    ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️ Big hugs and LOVE!!!

    On Wed, Feb 15, 2017 at 8:14 AM Portrait of a Morbid Optimist wrote:

    > Morbid Optimist posted: “Love is what you’ve been through with somebody. > ~James Thurber, quoted in Life magazine, 1960 “Please call me when you > can,” texts Mum on Valentine’s Day. The cat scan results are in. Dad has > cancer of the bladder and prostrate and a blockage in his” >

  2. Monica Bizzocchi says:

    ❤ ❤ ❤ Those are some beautifully chosen quotes Katie. I am so glad you have been so generous to share with us your journey in prose. Sending you my love. ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. Carlene Neeve says:

    Ah Katie .. sad news. I’m so sorry to hear. Keep up your spirits .. as Sandy has his … With his sense of humor, lines and jokes. You are blessed with that. In my thoughts and prayers ..

Leave a Reply

